The seven sacraments of the Catholic Church are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence. Sacraments, from the Latin word sacramentum, means "sign of the sacred” and point to seven special areas that are special, sacred, and significant for all Christians. 


Though not every individual participates in every sacrament, the more you learn about the sacraments, the more fully you can celebrate them.

Seven Sacraments


Baptism is the first sacrament where you become united with Christ and the Church – no other sacrament can be received without it.  Please contact the Parish office to schedule.



During the sacrament of Penance, one confesses their sins to God through a priest who forgives their sins by God’s mercy, and encourages  them to live a more faithful life through absolution. Confession is essential to cultivating and fruitfully living out the word of God. We’re not perfect people, even if we try to be. It feels so much better to confess some of those things you have done wrong and receive forgiveness. This helps us have a stronger relationship with God. Confessions are heard Tuesday 4:45 pm-5:00 pm, Wednesday-Friday 7:45 am-8:00 am, Saturday 3:30-4:00 pm, or by appointment with Father Gase:




First Communion/Eucharist

Eucharist means thanksgiving. This is when Christ’s body and blood are offered and then received by the parishioner in the form of bread and wine. Christ during the Last Supper broke bread, ate it, gave it to his disciples and told them to eat it. Now the priest, through the words of consecration, blesses and administers the Holy Communion during every Mass to remind followers that they are one with Christ. Food and drink nourishes our bodies – Christ’s blood and body nourishes us spiritually.



This is the sacrament that follows Baptism as part of the initiation process with God and the Church, where the candidate receives the gifts of the Holy Spirit and continues their journey with Christ.




Marriage isn’t just a union between man and wife. The devotion husband and wife have to each other, and to Christ, mirrors Christ’s love and service to the church. Through marriage, a couple promises to help build each other up in faith, serve each other and the church and be faithful to each other until death. Contact the Pastor six months prior to your wedding.


Holy Orders

This sacrament is for those who choose to become a priest, bishop or deacon. Through ordination, they are able to perform sacred duties and serve the church community. This is not a sacrament that everyone partakes in, rather it’s one that people feel called to by God.  To find out more, contact the Office of Vocations for the Diocese of Toledo at 419-244-6711 or visit


Anointing of the Sick

This sacrament is only bestowed upon those who are ill or suffering, which then unites the inflicted with Christ’s passion. Anointing the forehand and hands of the person with the Oil of the Sick while a priest administers a special blessing is how this sacrament is received. This special blessing is one way to make the ill feel strengthened and more connected with God in both mind and body.



For more information about participating in sacraments, contact the parish office or fill out our contact form.

Contact Us